The ISABS Future Scientist Award

The ISABS Future Scientist Award: A joint project of the International Society of Applied Biological Sciences (ISABS), Ministry of Science and Education of the Republic of Croatia and the Croatian Education and Teacher Training Agency

The Scientific Committee of the International Society for Applied Biological Sciences (ISABS) in cooperation with the Croatian Education and Teacher Training Agency and the Croatian Ministry of Science and Education awards the best Croatian high school students' papers (essays) with The ISABS Future Scientist Award. The papers (essays) must be in the field of human biology, genetics and chemistry. ISABS will also reward all teachers-mentors of the winning students.

High school students from Croatia wishing to compete for the award must submit their essays via the following button:

The application deadline is the 1st of April 2022.

Results of the contest will be published on the ISABS official website

 The application must contain:

  • Name and surname of the student and the teacher/mentor,
  • Contact e-mail and mobile number of a student and mentor,
  • Name of the school and the address, the class that the student attends and the place from which the student comes,
  • Description of previous student achievement (average grade point, awards, etc.),
  • Biography of the mentor with special regard to the results in teaching and science (up to 2500 words),
  • Student essay in Croatian and English (description of the experiment he/she was working on/discussion on some important topics in literature) in the field of human biology, genetics, chemistry, Infectious diseases (such as COVID-19), etc. (2000 to a maximum of 2500 character spaces).

The Scientific Committee ISABS will award six (6) students and their mentors for the best paper (essay). The following Nobel prize winners will participate at the award giving ceremony: Aaron Ciechanover (Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2004, Ruth and Bruce Rappaport Faculty of Medicine and Research Institute, The Technion – Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel), Sir Richard John Roberts (Nobel Prize in medicine in Physiology and Medicine 1993, New England Biolabs Inc., Ipswich, Massachusetts, USA) and Thomas Südhof (Nobel Prize in Physiology and Medicine 2013, Stanford School of Medicine, Stanford University, Palo Alto, California, USA). The award giving ceremony is planned to be held in the city of Dubrovnik, Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, during "The 12th ISABS Conference on Forensic, anthropologic and Medical Genetics and Mayo Clinic Lectures in Translational Medicine on 24th of June 2019".

The awarded high school students will receive The ISABS Future Scientist Award, the appropriate certificate, cash prize of 1,000 kuna and free registration for participation in all sessions of the conference including lectures of the Nobel laureates, the opening ceremony of the event and gala dinner. In addition, they will be handed the full set of materials (book of abstracts, special volume of the Croatian Medical Journal, etc.). Furthermore, their mentors will be awarded free participation in the conference and an appropriate certificate. Winners are required to display their work at the conference in the form of posters.

The scientific papers will be judged by the following committee:

Prof. Dragan Primorac, M.D., Ph.D. (Universities of Penn State and New Haven, USA; Universities of Split, Rijeka and Osijek; St. Catherine Hospital)
Mr. Božo Pavičin (Ministry of Science and Education of the Republic of Croatia),
Dubravka Brezak Stamać, Ph.D. (Education and Teacher Training Agency of the Republic of Croatia),
Prof. Manolis Kelis, Ph.D. (Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA),
Prof. Tamas Ordog, M.D., Ph.D. (Mayo Clinic, USA)
Prof. Mitch Holland, Ph.D. (Penn State University, USA)
Prof. Henry Erlich, Ph.D. (Children’s Hospital Oakland Research Institute, USA)
Prof. Gordan Lauc, Ph.D. (University of Zagreb and Genos)
Ass. Prof. Saša Missoni, Ph.D. (Institute for Anthropological Research, Croatia)
Prof. Henry Lee, Ph.D. (University of New Haven, USA)


  1. To encourage young people to engage in science from an early age,
    2. To enable the awarded students and teachers meeting the leading World's scientists including Nobel Prize laureates,
    3. To promote knowledge as the basis of Croatian future.


The organizers of "The 12th ISABS Conference on Forensic, anthropologic and Medical Genetics and Mayo Clinic Lectures in Translational Medicine" are ISABS, Mayo Clinic and the Special Hospital St. Catherine.

The co-organizers are: the George Washington University, Penn State University, University of New Haven, universities of Split, Osijek, Zagreb, Croatian Society of  Human Genetics, Croatian Society of Personalised Medicine, International Centre for Applied Biological Sciences, Medical School Regiomed, Institute for Anthropological Research, Genos, Croatian Competitiveness Cluster for Personalized Medicine, University hospital for infectious diseases “Dr. Fran Mihaljević” Ruder Boskovic Institute. A special partners are The American Academy of Forensic Sciences (AAFS) and Croatian Medical Chamber.