This is the second time in 70 years of AAFS existence that the AAFS granted this status to an organization

New Orleans, February 13, 2017. Board of Directors of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences (AAFS) has accepted the International Society of Applied Biological Sciences (ISABS) with headquarters in Croatia and led by Professor Dragan Primorac, M.D., Ph.D., as an associate member, based on the proposal of John Gerns, the president of AAFS, and after several years of evaluation. The decision was unanimous and in accordance with Article 1.5.6. of the Policy and Procedure Manual of the American Academy of Forensic Science. This decision is even more significant if we know that in 70 years of its existence, American Academy of Forensic Sciences approved this status to an organisation on two occasions only.

The American Academy of Forensic Sciences, based in Colorado Springs, US, is the world's most prestigious organization in the field of forensic science, with over 7000 members from 50 US states, Canada and 74 other associate countries worldwide. AAFS is comprised of 11 different sections from the field of criminology, national security, judiciary, medical and technical sciences, and a number of sub special areas. The American Academy of Forensic Sciences collaborates closely with the National Commission of Forensic Science, US Department of Justice, led by Deputy Attorney General of the United States, and the official journal of the AAFS is the Journal of Forensic Science, the world's leading forensic journal.

International Society of Applied Biological Sciences, (ISABS), based in Croatia, was founded in 1997. So far, more than 4,000 scientists and 600 invited speakers from over 70 countries participated in ISABS conferences, which are held every two years in Croatia. This year, ISABS is organizing a conference entitled "The Tenth ISABS Conference on Forensic and Anthropologic Genetics and Mayo Clinic Lectures in Individualized Medicine "(, together with the US leading medical institution - the Mayo Clinic, St. Catherine Specialty Hospital and other national and international institutions. The conference will be held from June 19th - 24th, 2017. in Dubrovnik, with more than 500 participants and 50 invited speakers including five Nobel Award winners: Professor Avram Hershko, Ph.D. (Technion), Professor Herald zun Hausen, Ph.D. (University of Heidelberg), Professor Paul Modrich, Ph.D. (Duke University), Professor Ada Yonath, Ph.D. (Weizmann Institute of Science) and Professor Robert Huber, Ph.D. (Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry).